Just saw the show for the first time just now. Not sure what the episode was called but it was the one with Sophia, and Morgana having visions of seeing Arthur killed by Sophia.
I enjoyed it! And I could certainly see why people are slashing Merlin/Arthur. Not enough for me to really squee about it ( not yet anyway ) but the feeling that I got when watching it reminds me of those days when I first started watching Supernatural - a mixture of enjoyment/bemusement/anticipation. I don't think I'm ready to embrace Merlin fully yet, I've got my plate full with SPN, but it's good to know that I would have back-up ( heh ) when SPN is over.
Btw, it's probably just me, but I didn't really get the "olden days" feel with Merlin, you know, the feel that you got when you're watching say, The Lord of the Ring. There were times that I felt that the lines and gestures were rather ... contemporary. But I enjoyed it all the same and I'm planning to keep watching it!