layne67: (spn dont split)
Written by [livejournal.com profile] killabeez, read it here.

Regarding Dean's anger and the way he reacts to Sam's lies, the key for me is that Sam is not reacting to Dean's return at all the way we (or Dean) might have expected. He's nothing like all the stories people wrote over hiatus. He's not clingy, he's not overly emotional, he's not afraid to let Dean out of his sight. He's self-possessed enough to lie like a champ even in the first moments after realizing Dean's back. -- And Dean as I see him is not only scared to death of these powers of Sam's, but also deeply hurt and confused by the way Sam's acting.

Sam's depended on Dean his whole life, far more than he should, and he's struggled against that all his life, too. Now he knows the reality of being completely alone. Love like Dean's is seductive, overwhelming -- unconditional adoration, devotion, and protection is not something a lot of people are lucky enough to know
layne67: (Default)
Never thought I would say this but I think Brad Pitt did quite a good job as the frantic husband whose wife had been shot by a would-be terrorist in the middle-of-nowhere in Morocco. Or maybe it was because of Cate Blanchett who was superb as per usual. I enjoyed the movie, despite the disturbing subject matters. All four families with their interlocking tales had me in total grips from start to finish. The wedding in Mexico ( Santiago looked like Orlando Bloom omg ), the boys in Morocco, the disturbed deaf-mute teenager in Japan, Richard's children in America - I already knew beforehand that their stories were connected and it was awesome to see how they were related to each other as the movie progressed.

And I never thought that seeing someone pee in a pot holding on to her husband could be sexy but with Cate doing it with Brad Pitt, it was.

I cried a bit at the end but was there really anyone to be blamed for the whole affair? Everyone was doing what they were supposed to do, the boys were being boys, the border police were doing their job, the media were in the business of selling news. Sad but there it was.

I haven't seen 'The Departed' ( which didn't get very good reviews here, it being unfavourably compared to its Hong Kong's original version ) but based on its own merit I'd say that 'Babel' is a very good film indeed and I'm rather surprised that it didn't win the Oscar for Best Film. Though it did get the award for Best Director at BAFTA, good for him.
layne67: (Default)
I saw 'Eragon' last week. And my first impression was it was way, way too short. Not short in the way LOTR's three hours simply flew but short as in well, short! At first I thought they were combining the 2nd story into the 1st one because when the story was coming to its end, I glanced at my watch and rather to my surprise not even an hour and a half had passed and I was like, that's it? So yeah, it was a bit like an incomplete meal for me.

The first three-quarter of the story was good. I really, really love the actor who played Eragon ( pronounced in exactly the same way as 'Aragorn' ). Hard to believe that he has never acted before. And I hope his cousin Roran will make a re-appearance in the sequel. The two of them tumbling about in the bedroom was too good to be true!

Read more... )
layne67: (Default)
I saw 'Casino Royale' last Saturday. It was the first time ever that I watched a Bond movie on the big screen. With the exception of the last three with Pierce Brosnan as 007, I've never watched them anywhere. I do know that there had been four Bonds - Connery, Dalton, Moore and Brosnan ( or were there more? ) - and I have a certain fondness for Brosnan which ran from his Remington Steele days. And Michelle Yeoh certainly kicked ass in one, and Sean Bean was delicious of course but I was never really into James Bond per se. He's just not my kind of hero with all his impossiblly high-tech gadgets ( invisible cars anyone? ) and why oh why didn't the villains just shoot the hero and be done with it instead of going through all those long drawn-out slow methods of killing?

But I wanted to watch 'Casino Royale'. And I was really looking forward to it, too. Maybe because Daniel Craig doesn't look one bit like the usual Bond and also because they say that he is the best Bond ever and the film is not really like the typical Bond movies. Heh, we have men-journalists rhapsodizing about Craig here and almost every review that I read gave it an 'A'. Not to mention [livejournal.com profile] i_o_r_h_a_e_l who's head-over-heels in love with Craig *g* So, yeah, I went, I watched, and surprise, surprise, I loved it!

Read more... )

Profile

layne67: (Default)
layne67

November 2012

S M T W T F S
     123
456 78 910
1112 13 1415 1617
181920212223 24
252627282930 

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios